Patents Granted in Asia for Precious Metal Free catalysts

Patent in Mandarin and Patent in Japanese

November 15, 2018

November 12th – Tokyo, Japan and Beijing, China – Pajarito Powder through its license with STC.UNM, the University of New Mexico’s technology-transfer and economic-development organization, was formally granted patents in Japan and China for “Non-PGM catalysts for ORR based on charge transfer organic complexes” – a major milestone toward securing Pajarito Powder’s intellectual property position in Asian markets. Non-PGM refers to the catalysts’ activity without the use of Platinum Group Metals.

Pajarito Powder was made aware of the Notification To Grant Patent Right issued on October 25, 2018 by China National Intellectual Property Administration (formerly known as SIPO) and the Japanese Patent Office (JPO) “Decision to Grant Patent and Notice” on November 9th.

Pajarito Powder Chief Scientist Dr. Alexey Serov and University of California, Irvine, Professor Plamen Atanassov are the inventors on the patent originally filed in the United States and granted on June 6 of 2017.

Pajarito Powder President and Chief Technology Officer Dr. Barr Zulevi remarked, “The granting of these patents in China and Japan reinforce Pajarito Powder’s leadership in PGM-free catalysts and the importance of these markets.”

Pajarito Powder, LLC is a venture-backed startup, funded by the Verge Fund and other investors, focused on developing next-generation fuel cell catalysts and advanced catalyst support materials for the automotive and electrolyzer industries. Working with automotive OEMs and other major manufacturers, Pajarito Powder is well poised to lead in the development of advanced catalyst and catalyst support materials in the rapidly developing industries of hydrogen fuel cells and electrolyzers.

Follow Us

Contact Us

Phone: +1 (505) 293-5367
Fax: +1 (505) 244-8040


Pajarito Powder benefits from resources provided by the State of New Mexico Economic Development Department:  JTIP, STEP and other programs through the Office of Science and Technology.